Just When You Think You’re Out …

… you’re in. When 8am rolled around, I was on my fourth cup of coffee and just finished a high protein breakfast. I still had not hit the shower but did manage to make a few passes with my new Norelco when the call came. A loop needed filling immediately and a decision had to be made if I wanted it. It was a 9am tee time and after some initial hesitation due to my travel time and lack of preparation, I took it anyway.

Light speed is the only way I can describe the next few minutes. Washed my hair and face then whizzed and deodorized simultaneously. A first. I was out the door in about six minutes. Light traffic and a little extra lead in my New Balance got me to the course with time to spare.

My loop was an Illinois twosome. One guy actually lived at The Rail in Springfield (home of the LPGA almost forever) for ten years. He also knew former players Sarah LaVeque, Mary Beth Zimmerman and Mary Bea Porter. Small world.

When I departed for the course, it was sixty degrees and sunny but I should have checked more closely. Old Sol was in hiding when I arrived and a north wind chilled our innards. I had dressed lightly and during our range warm-up, the wind chill had my left butt cheek doing the hula. I knew a trip back to my car was in order before we teed it up. Gloves and a half-hoodie was added to my attire and a jacket from the pro-shop to one of my players. We were as ready as we could be.

It took a few holes but we warmed enough to make the golf our first priority. With no one on the course and being only a twosome, we were done quickly and on our way out.

I had not caddied for awhile but all those days off worked to my advantage in a way. I decided to concentrate hard on getting more flexibility, especially on the right side of my lower back and hip by doing many hours of stretching, and it paid off in spades. I felt like Gumby out there! More limber than I had been in years. The way I see, it was more lemons into lemonade.

11 Responses to Just When You Think You’re Out …

  1. bocajr says:

    the last time you were limber, reagan was the president!!

  2. Terry says:

    “whizzed and deodorized simultaneously”

    I’ve never had any luck doing this…or for that matter…whizzing and brushing my teeth simultaneously. Bad grip…or bad aim…or both.

  3. Lazy man says:

    Try sitting down!

  4. bocajr says:

    any caddero looking to rent a car can go to hotwire and get a car for 3 weeks for 320$…as of thursday. you don’t have to pay upfront and can change reservation anytime.

  5. Tommy G says:

    Going to the show??

  6. Tommy G says:

    Suprised its dead with the weather being soo good.
    Planning on going to Hawaii…Is it gonna be Kolina? If so the towers in Pearl City are nice and kinda reasonable.
    \
    Tom

Leave a Reply

