Marine’s Letter To Sen. Feinstein

January 3, 2013

Senator Dianne Feinstein,

I will not register my weapons should this bill be passed, as I do not believe it is the government’s right to know what I own. Nor do I think it prudent to tell you what I own so that it may be taken from me by a group of people who enjoy armed protection yet decry me having the same a crime.

You ma’am have overstepped a line that is not your domain. I am a Marine Corps Veteran of 8 years, and I will not have some woman who proclaims the evil of an inanimate object, yet carries one, tell me I may not have one.

I am not your subject. I am the man who keeps you free. I am not your servant. I am the person whom you serve. I am not your peasant. I am the flesh and blood of America.

I am the man who fought for my country. I am the man who learned. I am an American. You will not tell me that I must register my semi-automatic AR-15 because of the actions of some evil man.

I will not be disarmed to suit the fear that has been established by the media and your misinformation campaign against the American public.
We, the people, deserve better than you.

Respectfully Submitted,
Joshua Boston
Cpl, United States Marine Corps
2004-2012

13 Responses to Marine’s Letter To Sen. Feinstein

  1. Frank says:

    Josuha – your opinion is not shared by all veterans. You served the United States but I paid you, not a senator. The taxpayers not only paid you but they elect senators. You could have chosen a different occupation.

    You deserve a gun for recreational game hunting. If you use a gun on another citizen you might regret it personally and legally.

    OK maybe you deserve other guns, but semi-automatic rifles?? Veterans have been known to have mental problems, and/or snap and use weapons. Let’s make it a little more difficult for Americans to get the most deadly guns. We can’t station SWAT teams in every public building.

    I hate laws and even take a chance by going over the speed limit. If I get caught I should pay a price as a deterrant. Laws are to protect Americans. Sometimes crooked politicians pass stupid laws – but not every gun law is stupid. Drug laws don’t deter all of the drug trade but at least they deter a few drug crimes and so would a few gun laws deter a few gun crimes.

    Should you be allowed to make bombs? Sell booze to minors? Rob your neighbor? Pay taxes? You have to live with laws even the ones you don’t agree with like tinted windshields on your car.

    Thanks for serving our country. Should I also thank the postman and the receptionist at the FDA, and the gardner at the White House? They also elected to work for the feds but could have chosen another employer. I don’t see what your past employment has to do with policy making.

    FD
    New York

    • lifeontour says:

      Yikes Frank, where should I begin? First of all, your trusted federal lawmakers take the following oath upon entering office.

      I do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter: So help me God.

      “… I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States …” includes all amendments even the second, which by the way has nothing to do with hunting. It does have something to do with the tyranny of government. That’s why liberals despise it so. I do see though liberals may take that oath with a grain of salt. It does end with the words “So help me God.”

      Do you think serving our country as a postman or receptionist is tantamount to putting one’s life on the line in the military? Wake up!

      You say Joshua should should have chosen a different occupation. Patriotism is not an occupation Frank. Military service is one of the highest but yet unacknowledged callings in life. To risk one’s being not for spouse or children but for country and for what it stands, may be the epitome of selflessness.

      I’ll conclude with the following.

      “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
      Benjamin Franklin

  2. Frank says:

    Another point Joshua – did all the US citizens agree with your deployment or did the Senators do it?

  3. Awsi Dooger says:

    Why would that be posted here? It reads like something desperately passed around on right wing websites. It’s neither well written nor effective.

    Most pathetic of all is his use of the term fear in the final paragraph. It’s gun owners who abuse mindless fear. And when that firearm is available 24/7/365 the opportunity for it to be summoned in an emotional dispute, or stumbled upon by a curious teenager, or any number of other possibilities, overwhelms the tiny fractional chance that it will be successfully used against the naughty intruder.

    I noticed that the pre-election threads disappeared around here, when it was obvious what the result would be. If the polling had been the other way, the related threads would have been ten fold. It was a welcome absence. We check this site for golf and should be similarly spared in this case.

    • Frank Michaels says:

      its Lifeon Tours blog/website…if you don’t like the topic or thread, don’t participate

    • lifeontour says:

      Funny how you should tell me what my blog is about.

      Unfortunately, an emotional and ill-informed electorate won the day. It’s a sad state of affairs when the majority of the populace relinquish their constitutional rights and succumb to unrealistic governmental assurances.

      The threat or actual use of deadly force by the average citizen occurs thousands of times a year but you’r re not going to hear about it. Cities are going bankrupt, or close to it, resulting in cuts to police and extended response times to emergencies. That is reason enough to have the means for self-protection.

  4. brian says:

    Dear Cpl, I hope the next maniac with a gun kills your daughter. You will then realise the point of restricting guns to responsible people. Which you obviously are not

    • lifeontour says:

      Normally I would delete a comment as vile as yours Brian but an exception is warranted here.
      You are proof positive of the hate embodied in the liberal mind. It’s people like you that access to guns need to be limited.Liberalism is a mental disorder.

      Take care and seek therapy for the sake of us all.

  5. unfortunately there have been instances where caddies have wanted to shoot their players but that would be rather rash, at least wait til they have paid you..lol

  6. Scott says:

    Dear Cpl Boston,

    You state that it is none of the government’s right to know what you own. I assume you will also be protesting the government’s long-standing practice of knowing other things you own, like your car, your boat, and your house.

    • lifeontour says:

      Owning a house, car or boat is not guaranteed by the Constitution. As written by our Founding Fathers, the rights of the people are not endowed by the government. They are inalienable.

      • Rick Schofield says:

        All good arguments. Sometimes the logic is amiss. If the government knows that you own a gun that is not the same as the government preventing you from owning a gun.

Leave a Reply

