Almost Perfect

****1/2 is my rating for my Nexus 7 so far. It didn’t receive the full five due to a GPS problem. As reported in the tech news, it either fails to lock on to a signal or when it does, drops it in short order. This renders the device useless as a navigation tool while traveling. According to the accounts, Google is working on the solution so it’s probably a software issue.

There is also trouble with multi-touch or so they say. Haven’t experienced that but it’s probably specific to certain applications.

Other than that, the screen is excellent, form factor perfect for me (not to big or small) very responsive (no lag), acquires and connects to Wi-Fi signals quickly and plenty of apps in the Google Play Store (63 installed so far). Evernote is my favorite app so far. I have it on my laptop also and notes sync perfectly. Mint is another one I love. Shows all my financial accounts (banking, credit cards etc. ) in one place.

I opted for the 32 GB version which was probably over-kill. The 15 GB should be more than enough for the average user. I haven’t lost any sleep after dolling out the extra $40 though. The Nexus 7 is a bargain even at the higher price.

Finding a case was difficult. New cases are just coming on the market now. I pre-ordered a rooCase from Amazon for cheap. Should ship today.

Bottom Line: No doubt I would buy the Nexus 7 again if a do-over was offered.

8 Responses to Almost Perfect

  1. Tommy G says:

    Larry…I for one Don’t care about your toys…Isn’t this supposed to be about “Life on Tour” ?
    Am I off base on can some of the other subscribers weight in.

    • lifeontour says:

      Tommy, I don’t care what you wish to read. I write about things that interest me. Time for you to move on.

    • Ozz says:

      G’day Tommy, Larry has always written and reviewed about his new toys, whether it is technology (computers/TV’s), cars or anything else that is outside of golf. He even used to have a section on Tech Stuff, which was very helpful and informative.

      I always look forward to these stories/reviews, as it assists myself and probably others who may be contemplating purchasing something simiilar. The Nexus 7 would benefit someone who is on the road or flying, as it is much lighter and smaller to carry, then a laptop.

      From down under, ozzy

  2. LoJo says:

    Tommy, it’s because Larry no longer has a “Life on Tour”

  3. Tommy G says:

    Thanks Ozz you answered my question….I will just have to edit things that don t interset me

  4. rich says:

    Did you ever have any interactions with Christie Kerr? Is she as bad as she appears? Just watching her on the course and in interviews she seems a real PITA. I once played golf with a young guy who worked for Nike and worked with Christie and interacted with her off the course and his views were positive.

    I think Meg’s talents don’t include coaching/managing a team. I can’t imagine a pairing of Kerr/Wie being good for anyone. Seems like a bad combination of personalities. Wie (who IMO doesn’t belong on the team) needs to be paired up with someone laid back and not someone like Kerr.

    Unfortunately on this team I’m not sure who qualifies as laid back since players like C. Kim and Gulbis didn’t make it.

    • lifeontour says:

      Not that many Rich but from my observations and comments from others, she has a Jekyll and Hyde personality. From angel to devil depending on the circumstance.

      Wie is a different person away from her parents. That may be the difference.

Leave a Reply

