Airbus LPGA Classic – Monday

As most Mondays on tour, it’s pretty dead but even more so this week. Open qualifiers are being held which delayed the onset of those who wish to get in an extra day’s practice

J. D. was the first caddie to spot me and say hello. He was replaced at the last moment by a swing coach this week and looking for a loop.

‘Country Club Mike’ flagged me down next. It was good to catch up and learn that not much has changed except the faces of those on both sides of the bag.

I’m staying with ‘The Nerd’ for my three day visit so I followed him around for nine holes in the qualifier. He was looping for Symetra Tour member Fiona Puyo. One over at the turn they were and looked very solid. Good length. Unfortunately, the back nine added a couple more to the total. Didn’t make it.

Ran into Zac on # 6. Didn’t know he broke his ankle surfing last year just before The Open. That’s what happens when you’re out of the loop.

Tour official Marty Robbins gave me a lift on four. Seems the old slow play bugaboo is still a hot topic of discussion. Every potential remedy has been tried but they’re still attempting to find the magic bullet.


Jaybird’ is out of retirement. Working for Kris Tamulis this week.’


My satisfactory first day back was spoiled by getting rear-ended as I waited to make a right from Magnolia onto Moffett Road. Just minor damage to the left rear bumper for me but his ‘06 BMW 750-LI had a nice crease above the turn signal.

He didn’t wish to go through his insurance but mine convinced me it would be easier to make sure I didn’t have to pay for any hidden surprises. He didn’t provide his company’s name but my agent had no trouble finding it through his vanity plate.

BTW, he was on his cell at the time of the accident.

Then there was this:

Jutanugarn, Hurtado claim final two spots in qualifying tournament

Volunteers Revel in Running LPGA Kingsmill Championship

Leave a Reply

