Parked In The Desert

I decided to head west last Wednesday. No bag lined up but the itch to get on the road needed scratching.

Stopped overnight in Biloxi (right down the street from where I lived for three years), Fredericksburg TX and El Paso. Instead of culminating the remainder of my trip on I-10, I decided to red line it. After spending the night at a Motel 6 on Country Club Dr. (aptly named for the El Paso Country Club just down the street) all I needed was a right hand turn and follow my GPS.

I found that the 6’s online rate was very different than the walk-in. $15 more in fact. After confirming this was not a mistake, I sat in the lobby and made a reservation on my phone before checking in. How asinine is that?

After sucking down my fill of coffee at the neighborhood MacDonald’s early the next morning, I was off on the final leg. This route to Tucson took me through Bisbee and Tombstone. Both towns have interesting histories and worth a visit.

Once I got out of the El Paso city limits, the surrounding desolation was daunting. A breakdown would have me sitting for some time. Cell service was non-existent and an occasional Boarder Patrol vehicle was about the only other traffic. No illegal alien sightings.

Speaking of illegal activity, check out this story. I drove right right through there.


Bisbee’s copper mines put this burb on the map. The 850 foot deep Lavender Pit mine (now closed) is one of the roadside scenic views. If you call massive devastation of the landscape scenic. Would make one heck of a landfill.

Bisbee open pit mine

This wasn’t my first time here. Many moons ago, Dan Cannon (Book’em Danno) and myself toured the underground Queen Mine.

danno_and_me


Reenactment of the gunfight at the OK Corral is one of the main attractions in Tombstone. Here’s  Virgil, Morgan, and Wyatt Earp, and Doc Holliday on there way to the showdown.

Tucson gunfighters


It only cost me $118.82 in gas to get here and found the lowest price so far when I arrived.

QT gas price


After exiting a local Walmarto in Tucson, I spotted this low-rider putting on a show. They’re more common here than one would think.

low rider Tucson


Then there was this:

Golf’s Olympic test event snubbed by EVERY PGA Tour player

PGA Tour, LPGA announce ‘strategic alliance agreement’

Leave a Reply

