Decatur-Forsyth Classic 2016 – Thursday

My player is Madeleine Sheils.

It was our turn in the pro-am. Heat index over 100. Love those golf carts.


I arrived at the course about an hour and a half early. When Maddie showed I took the clubs to the putting green and only then I noticed my shirt was inside out. No one else noticed for all that time.


Even though I had a last year’s yardage book I had to buy a new one. The previous book was pathetic. Didn’t have any sprinklers just distances from colored dots which were painted on the fairways. Kenny “The Wizard” did the one for this year and it’s much better. Very professional.


Maddie has given me a shout-out in her blog (madeleinesheils.com) along with some very kind words so I will reciprocate. Here goes.

Maddie is the perfect boss but she’s too humble to know she’s perfect. She’s intelligent, supportive, funny. She’s romantic and courageous. She’s kind, sensitive, gentle. Likes animals, children and will change poopy diapers. Hold it. I think I’m channeling a scene from the movie Ground Hog Day, one of my favorites. 🙂

All that aside, she’s pretty neat and has a good sense of humor. I hope.


Decatur was the original home of the Chicago Bears and the first professional football game was played here. Originally known as the Decatur Staleys, they moved up north in 1921.

Decatur Staleys wall 1


Then there was this:

U.S. Solheim Cup Captain Inkster retains Hurst, Ward and Lopez as Assistant Captains

“Golf in the Olympics can really help the women’s game” – Stephanie Meadow sees the bigger …

2 Responses to Decatur-Forsyth Classic 2016 – Thursday

  1. Ozz says:

    Hi Larry, Madeleine did say some very nice things about you in her blog. I think you may have gone a bit too far with your adjectives of Madeleine.

    Have good tournament.

Leave a Reply

